Determining the Right Bedtime

13 Apr

Yesterday was HELL. My runny nose was like a leaking tap – blowing was pointless as it just kept dripping. Picking Timothy up was impossible without getting him all wet in my germs, so I stuffed my nose with rolled toilet paper and Timothy couldn’t recognize me and kept complaining.

I almost didn’t hold him at all yesterday. I was miserable, sneezing every 5 minutes, changing the pieces of toilet paper even more frequently. HELL.

And I guess after 4 days of my cold and being “abandoned”, Timothy developed some sort of anxiety. For the first time in a very long while, I needed to rock him to sleep in the evening and then after the 6 am feeding.

I am almost back to normal today. Well, compared to yesterday I am the healthiest person on Earth ๐Ÿ™‚ And I am trying to make up for the past 4 days with Timothy, letting him nap in my lap, talking to him, playing, etc. – minimal time for him on his own, maximum in my company. He still is whiny and clingy but I think it will get better.

On a separate note, I am considering putting him to bed even earlier. He often wakes up at 6:30 am, which means that by the time he’s done eating it’s already 7 am so he just starts his day while I am not even remotely ready to start my day.

Today he woke up at 5:30 am and went back to sleep at 6 am (some rocking was required, again) – and we slept until 7:30. MUCH better.

So probably I’ll move his bedtime to 8:30 pm and see what happens. Maybe 8 pm is what he needs. We’ll see.

I already know that starting his bedtime later doesn’t mean later waking up: he’s been sleeping from 12 am to 5 am when he was born, then we gradually kept putting him to sleep earlier and earlier (11 pm, 10 pm, now 9 pm) – but he still wakes up at 5-6 am and now frequently at 6:30 am – and that shortens my night dramatically. And I don’t want to go to bed at 9 pm with him – I wanna spend some time with my husband.

So there, I should start his bedtime routine at 8:30 pm today. We’ll see how it goes.

2 Responses to “Determining the Right Bedtime”

  1. babiesandus April 14, 2012 at 1:18 PM #

    Glad to hear you are better, sounds like you had a horrible time of it!

    • zygotta April 14, 2012 at 10:04 PM #

      I did, but it’s over now. Hurray!
      Thank you ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

