Big Babies and Assumptions

20 Apr

Yesterday I brought Timothy to the office to meet my colleagues. They were all enchanted by how cute, calm and BIG he is. One absent-minded colleague asked me: how old is he? 6 months? Nope, he’s two.

And my boss told me to be prepared for people to think Timothy is… what’s the politically correct term?.. developmentally challenged? She said her sister has big babies and every time she hears something like: he doesn’t talk? What’s wrong with him? – Well, nothing’s wrong. He’s one year old.

Hmmm. I guess I really should get ready for questions like this. Every single passerby who stick his nose in my stroller asks: how old is he? 6? So I just can see the surprised expressions a few months down the road when he will be even bigger but nor crawling, not walking, not talking. I need to grow thick skin against people’s assumptions.

Anyhow. I have a wonderful, healthy baby – and that’s the most important thing. I know that he’s great, and everyone else can go you-know-where.

10 Responses to “Big Babies and Assumptions”

  1. St. Elsewhere April 20, 2012 at 10:14 AM #

    Whoa!!

    Big babies are developmentally challenged? Who would have thought….

    So sorry you have to hear such crap about your happy, healthy child.

    • zygotta April 20, 2012 at 10:31 AM #

      i probably didn’t make myself clear: people would look at Timothy and think he’s 18 months old and would be surprised he doesn’t walk and talk and would think there something wrong with him – while, in fact, he’s 11 months old and perfectly normal 🙂

  2. ifserenitynow April 20, 2012 at 11:54 AM #

    I get those comments too but surprisingly I don’t mind them. I’m proud of my big boy :). However, no one has made any assumptions about something being wrong with him. They just guess he’s way older than he is.

    • zygotta April 22, 2012 at 11:53 AM #

      I also feel proud when people say how big he is – but it’s good to be prepared that someone might say “what’s wrong with him, why can’t he sit up”

  3. adesolaf April 20, 2012 at 12:17 PM #

    Well, let anyone think what they want Z, the important thing is you have a healthy and wonderful and very well loved baby. And if he was tiny/small would they assume he is not been well fed or unloved!!!!!

    • zygotta April 22, 2012 at 11:53 AM #

      so true!
      people love gossiping

  4. Shannon April 20, 2012 at 2:37 PM #

    People are idiots sometimes! I’ve had quite a few people comment on Natalie’s size, but more along the lines of “WHOA! What a BIG girl!” I tell them she’s healthy it’s generally not nice to comment on a lady’s weight. 😀

    • Shannon April 20, 2012 at 2:38 PM #

      oops, it’s healthy AND it’s generally not nice to comment… 🙂

      • zygotta April 22, 2012 at 11:54 AM #

        I guess if I had a girl, I wouldn’t have been very amused by comments like this… with a boy – I actually feel proud he’s so big 🙂

        • alleycatm April 23, 2012 at 10:13 AM #

          You go girl! Be proud of your boy, people can just be so stupid sometimes

Leave a Reply

