Fertility Clinic + Gyno

21 Apr

Timothy and I went to our fertility clinic yesterday – to say thank you. I was BLOWN AWAY by the fact that they not only remembered me by name – they remembered that just before getting pregnant, I had gone to Iceland! A-mazing! Considering that I was their patient for only 6 months.

They took a picture of Timothy, congratulated me on looking great, and told me that another new mommy visited them earlier that day, also with a boy who was also an excellent sleeper πŸ™‚

My doctor warned me that I just might get easily pregnant on my own next time – when we get to it. That’s the nature of PCOS. And, of course, told me to come see him if there are problems πŸ™‚

It was very nice to see them all – and I was surprised to find out the the ultrasound tech was pregnant herself while we were seeing her. I had no idea! We actually exchanged phone numbers for we both live in the same area. We shall have a playdate, her son is 4 months older.

And then Timothy and I went to see my gyno. Yes, for the post-op! Yes, 10 weeks post-op – no one looked at me since we were discharged from the hospital!

She told me that it’s normal to experience tremendous pain while trying to have sex and told me that it will remain painful until I get my first period – which might take a while. It turns out, the bigger the baby (and the more milk he requires) – the later the period comes back. If you’re exclusively breastfeeding, that is. She said not to be surprised if there is no period for 6 months and told me to come and see her only if I go for 7 months with no period. Works for me! I am not a big fan of AF πŸ™‚

She also told me that I need to be very careful and not get preggo until Timothy is at least 9 months old – because I had a c-section. And she also said that my hormones might have corrected themselves after pregnancy and delivery and I really might get pregnant on my own next time. So we will be using condoms and lots of KY for the next few months!

And someone asked me to post a picture of Timothy – here you go!

Image

12 Responses to “Fertility Clinic + Gyno”

  1. Artistmouse April 22, 2012 at 4:05 AM #

    Timothy is so precious! Look at those cheeks! It looks like he has a lot of hair too. Has he lost any? AJ is starting to lose some of hers, but mainly from moving around so much when she sleeps.

    BTW, we have the exact same bouncy chair. It saved our sanity many times when AJ was first born.

    • zygotta April 22, 2012 at 11:49 AM #

      Thanks Mouse!
      Yes, he’s losing some just above the ears – and the patch at the back of his head is starting to thin out as well – because he’s sleeping on his back.

      We love our bouncy chair! But the sanity-saver is a swing that we got from our friends. All three of their kids went through the swing.

  2. chinkebrowneyes April 22, 2012 at 8:04 AM #

    He is beautiful!! πŸ™‚

  3. eighteenyears April 22, 2012 at 6:08 PM #

    I love that last picture — what a beautiful smile.

    • zygotta April 22, 2012 at 10:33 PM #

      melts my heart πŸ™‚

  4. St. Elsewhere April 23, 2012 at 9:53 AM #

    Lovely pics, Zygotta! He has a fabulous smile!

    And isn’t it nice to be remembered and recognized? Glad you were recognized and everyone remembers you!

    From what I know, it takes about three months for the uterus’s involution to complete….and if you are trying for a pregnancy, sooner is better than later…but atleast six months is a good gap between pregnancy again if one has a C-section.

    • zygotta May 3, 2012 at 12:16 PM #

      I was told 9 months, but we’re not planning on having the babies THAT close… I think We won’t start TTC until Timothy is at least 15 months old – but we’ll see how it goes, whether AF comes back, how regularly, etc.

  5. St. Elsewhere April 23, 2012 at 9:55 AM #

    Hey, on your blog, the text still states “I am Zygotta and I will have a healthy baby despite PCOS…”…It’s time to change the text, lady! πŸ˜‰

    • zygotta May 3, 2012 at 12:16 PM #

      huh – I certainly should fix that! πŸ™‚

  6. adesolaf April 23, 2012 at 3:43 PM #

    Happy baby, Happy mummy πŸ˜‰ πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

