On Co-Sleeping

3 May

I noticed that most of those who complain about how badly their kids sleep – are the ones who co-sleep. Of course, it’s a very subjective perception, I haven’t polled a hundred moms, but that’s the feel. 2 years old and still wakes up 1-2 times? Most definitely is a co-sleeper.

And you know what I suspect? When there’s a milk-smelling mom next to them – the smell wakes them up, enticing them to have a feed.

Because during the day, whenever I am around, Timothy eats every 2.5-3 hours. But if he’s with his dad? He can go for 4 hours, sometimes even 5, without a problem.

I am glad I decided against co-sleeping. Timothy was sleeping in a basket in my bed for the first 4 or 5 weeks, and since then he’s been sleeping in his own crib on the other side of his bedroom (I decided it will be easier to get him settled in his own room from the get-go, rather than moving him there from ours at some point).

He will turn 3 months next week – I am planning to move back to my own bedroom and reclaim my husband.

That’s the plan. I am not sure if I will follow through, though. I feel so bad leaving him, so small and vulnerable, all alone – while hubby and I snuggle together… But I also worry that hubby and I are growing somewhat distant. We shall see.

Regardless, I am glad we didn’t co-sleep – and probably won’t.

8 Responses to “On Co-Sleeping”

  1. Babylicious May 3, 2012 at 6:42 PM #

    We didn’t co-sleep (except random occasions) and LM is still a poor sleeper…rarely truly Sttn. He.did bassinet in our room until 3mo and then his crib. I think sleep habits just differ from babt to baby.

    • zygotta May 3, 2012 at 7:30 PM #

      I agree + it just seems that co-sleeping increases the possibility of frequent night feedings

  2. An Aspiring Mom to Be May 4, 2012 at 9:48 AM #

    I had my little boy in a bassinet by my bed until a few weeks ago. He seemed to wake up every time I did… or he’d fuss and I’d try to calm him immediately and then he’d wake up. Ever since we moved him to his own room and his own crib, he has been sleeping through the night. Even when he wakes up and fusses, he puts himself right back to sleep.

    It was really hard to leave him in his room by himself. I did it gradually. The first night, I slept in the recliner in his room (more for me, than him!). The next night, I moved to the couch in the living room right next to his room (again, more for me than him!). By the next night, I slept in bed with my husband. I still leave my door and his door open (I’m worried I won’t hear him), but it is nice to have a little space and privacy 🙂 I’m glad I did it. I think it is better for me and for my husband. It is nice to have some degree of normalcy 🙂

    • zygotta May 4, 2012 at 10:49 AM #

      well there you go
      I also found once I moved Timothy from the basket in my bed to his own crib on the other side of the room, that he started to sleep better and better and better

      after all, remember when you started to share your bed with some guy? It took some time to get used to his tossing turning, grunting and snoring 🙂

  3. BleedingTulip May 4, 2012 at 11:26 AM #

    When I first read this heading I was worried you were going to be pro-co-sleeping. I agree, that the moms I know who co sleep their kids have a hard time sleeping through the night, and also have a hard time falling asleep. But the parents who have their kids sleep in their own space, with a bedtime routine, have kids that know how to settle themselves down, go to sleep and for the most part, stay asleep (unless the kid is sick or something). I’m glad you’ve been brave enough to do it, and I bet you’ll be surprised how smoothly you returning to your room will go :).

    • zygotta May 4, 2012 at 11:44 AM #

      I personally never intended to co-sleep, from the moment he was born I tried to get him to be independent: if he cried during the day, I would pick him up and sooth – and as soon as he was find, would try to put him back in his bouncer-playpen-whatever.

      For example, we had thunder yesterday evening, right when I put him to bed for the night. On the video monitor, I saw that he was fussing – but he wasn’t crying, so I let him be. After 5 minutes he fell asleep.

      PS The thunder was very distant and the humidifier’s noise masked most of it; otherwise I would have stayed with him a bit longer, I guess.

  4. Shannon May 4, 2012 at 2:37 PM #

    We’ve never co-slept with either of our kids, I wouldn’t get any sleep if we did! There is something about having a baby in my room that I just can’t fall all the way asleep. If Timothy is sleeping through the night, he probably wouldn’t feel all alone in this room because he’d fall asleep right after seeing you and wake up in the morning seeing you! 🙂

    • zygotta May 4, 2012 at 4:52 PM #

      I do realize that it’s more for me than for him, the “leaving all alone” problem…

      I read that sleeping in the same room supposedly reduces the risk of SIDS, but I think by 3 months the risk gets really low?..

Leave a Reply

