The Rule of Three Days

4 May

At my baby shower, one of my friends, a mother of two, gave me an advice: whatever is happening to your baby, just keep in mind it won’t last beyond three days. I don’t know why, she said, but that’s how it works. The other moms nodded in agreement.

Last Saturday, Timothy was fussy. I had my first night out planned, so I worriedly left him with the hubby in the evening. Timothy took his 6 pm bottle of expressed milk, but refused point-blank to take another one at nine – and refused going to sleep, too. He was fussy and unhappy until I finally got home around 11 pm. And, uncharacteristically, he then woke up at night.

The next day he kept being cranky and fussy. We went to a conservation park in the north for a stroll – Timothy was sleeping. But then he woke up when we went to have something to eat – and we had to keep passing him to each other over the table, which was hard: I had a burger and hubby had wings, so we couldn’t eat AND hold him.

On Monday he kept whining and I was getting frustrated and then I thought:it’s day three of fussiness, he’ll be fine tomorrow.

And you know what? He was. On the fourth day he woke up his usual cheerful, smiling self, ready to interact or play contentedly on his own, or eat, or sleep, or whatever.

The rule of three days works – AND it helps preserve sanity. It’s much easier to stay calm when you know it’s all gonna be all right in 3 days…

10 Responses to “The Rule of Three Days”

  1. An Aspiring Mom to Be May 4, 2012 at 9:50 AM #

    I had heard the two weeks version (same concept, just two weeks instead of three days). I like the three days version better. And I definitely think this is true (and a great way to get through those hard days!!).

    • zygotta May 4, 2012 at 10:51 AM #

      I think two weeks is sort of the cycles they go through – like it takes two weeks to learn how to grab… or they stay on the same schedule for 2 weeks… but for “all-of-a-sudden” things – I guess the 3 days rule works 🙂

  2. chinkebrowneyes May 4, 2012 at 10:07 AM #

    I love that rule. That will come in handy in the future. LOL

  3. babiesandus May 4, 2012 at 10:09 AM #

    This is the first bit of wisdom I do not mind people sharing!

  4. Jess May 4, 2012 at 11:11 AM #

    Never thought or noticed that…now I’ll have to pay attention.

    • zygotta May 4, 2012 at 11:21 AM #

      I am sure it’s hard to notice when there are 3 babies and a toddler 🙂

  5. BleedingTulip May 4, 2012 at 11:20 AM #

    I’m glad you were able to remember that bit of advice. Hopefully she only meant it for fussy days and not days when they are especially good!

    • zygotta May 4, 2012 at 11:23 AM #

      ehhh… well, I recall being so excited when Timothy went on a predictable schedule, eating at 6, 9, 12, 3, 6, 9 and then going to bed. And yes, it lasted 3 days.

      I also remember when he was a couple of weeks old and started sleeping for 4-5 hours between feedings. Also lasted for 3 days…

Leave a Reply

