Perfect Time to Go to Bed

13 May

This past week, I moved back to my bedroom. My and my hubby’s bedroom, that is. The day Timothy turned 3 months – I moved out. I put him in bed, walked out, closed the door, and didn’t return until he woke up for the feeding.

I am not sure whether he senses my absence, misses my snoring, is going through a growth spurt – but his sleeping was sketchy this week (well… sketchy for him).

Usually, we start the night time routine at 9 pm. We had tried earlier bedtimes a few times – and it always led to multiple wakings during the night.

So we stuck with the 9 pm one.

My hubby brings him up to his bedroom, changes him slowly, talking and laughing with him, while I prepare the room for the bedtime – fill up and turn on the humidifier (for white noise, primarily), lay out the sleep sack on the mattress, turn on the night light (used while feeding to send the night time signal, I turn it off when I leave the room). Hubby changes the diaper, puts on a onesie, hands him to me for the feeding. I feed him (the night time feed is a luxuriously slow one, 30 minutes at least), burp him, put the sleep sack on, whisper “good night” in his ear, stroke him once head to toe with both hands, turn off the night light and leave. Then he wakes up between 5 and 6:30 am for the “night feed” and then sleeps until 7-8 am.

Well, this week he was barely awake and tired during the evening feeds, so it was hard to get him to get a good feeding. Perhaps that’s the reason he started waking up earlier than usual – at 3:30-4:30 am instead of 6 am; there even was a night when he woke up at 1, then at 5, and then again at 6:30 am (at which point, since he clearly wasn’t hungry, my hubby took charge and let me sleep).

So we decided to move his bedtime to 8-8:30 pm. Yesterday he was in bed at 8:45 pm, fed and sleepy – and slept until 5:30 am (and then until 7 am) – yay!

Let’s see how tonight goes. Hopefully the earlier night time will resolve his sketchier sleep issues. Hopefully the reason for bad sleeping was not eating enough in the evening due to being too tired and sleepy. After all, babies and toddlers are supposed to have their bedtime start between 7 and 8 pm. So perhaps Timothy has reached the point where that’s what he needs.

We shall see.

2 Responses to “Perfect Time to Go to Bed”

  1. Jess May 14, 2012 at 3:46 PM #

    Glad things are transitioning….do you have a sound machine? That might help him a bit too.

    • zygotta May 14, 2012 at 5:47 PM #

      I have a humidifier – I think it makes enough white noise?

Leave a Reply

