Timothy Update

24 May

I think I am starting to neglect this blog. To blame are the regular letters I send out to friends and relatives – and I sort of am lazy to write the thing twice (the letters are not in English, so copy-paste won’t do :))

So what’s new?

THE BLOCKED TEAR DUCT

Remember I complained about the right eye, the blocked tear duct? The pediatrician didn’t seem too concerned last time we saw her (about 6 weeks ago), but the situation started to worsen: the goo became yellowish-green, brown upon drying, and his eye was constantly covered in unseemly crust. Careful aiming was required to plant a kiss, or else you might end up with that stuff on your lips. Yes, he’s my baby, but still kind of gross.

I started to get advice – eye massages, squeezing some milk into the eye after feeding, polisporyn (sp?) red eye drops, wash with tea… I tried some (milk, massages), refrained from others (the drops I hesitated to use without a ped’s prescription) until one day, a week ago, he woke up and the whole dirty-eye thing was gone. No more. Both eyes are now clear blue, intent with curiosity. Yay!

MOVEMENT

Timothy learned to move. What he does is raise his legs high up in the air, then bring them down with a bang, straighten the legs and propel himself forward a few inches. An absolutely necessary attribute of this move: scary facial expression with bulging eyes πŸ™‚ The other day he spent 10 minutes bragging to hubby and eye about his new skill. He would look at us, tense, get ready, do the move, and then bask in our cheers πŸ™‚

TURNING

He turned on his side. Just once, it was a week ago. He turned and remained on his side for a few minutes. We didn’t see how he turned – I saw how he rolled back on his back, though.

SITTING UP

Now this is a ridiculous one. I was terrified of putting too much pressure on his spine (I think someone told me to never sit up a child when I was in my teenage years), and then I read that I should be doing it – while supporting his back. He has very string spine, I feel he could sit on his own if he just had the coordination for it.

But the funny thing is that a few days ago my hubby was holding Timothy in a semi-seated position in his lap, when Timothy raised his head and… sat up. We shut up in the middle of our conversation and stared, half expecting him to jump off his lap and walk away (just kidding :))

Again, he hasn’t repeated it, but he loves sitting up.

STANDING

He loves standing up, too. What surprised me is that he actually stands firmly on his feet. I remember my niece always curling her toes like a ballerina so it was nearly impossible to get her to stand even when she was 6 months old. Timothy just plants his feet on the ground and stands.

He loves jumping, too – but he hasn’t got the idea yet that he is supposed to be jumping (or at least bending the knees), so for now it’s me tossing him in the air πŸ™‚

SINGING ALONG

Timothy loves it hen I sing to him or when my hubby plays the guitar – he actually sings along, it’s so cute. He goes eh, eh, eh… πŸ™‚

Mmmmm… I think that’s about it for now.

Oh, one more thing.

SLEEPING

I finally put the black-out curtains in his bedroom. He now sleeps in. Two days ago we slept until 9 am (yes, he still wakes up once around 4-6 am for a feeding). I am so happy about the sleeping in thing. I hope those days when he felt like starting the day at 6:30 are gone!

2 Responses to “Timothy Update”

  1. Mrs. E May 25, 2012 at 9:59 PM #

    Ahh he’s growing up so quickly! The image of him singing is adorable πŸ™‚ I might have to try the blackout curtains someday…9 am sounds heavenly!

  2. Shannon May 26, 2012 at 5:37 PM #

    Timothy is just chugging right along and growing up!! I am thrilled about the tear duct thing b/c Natalie has one of those too…..there is hope for us!

Leave a Reply

