On Having a Son

31 May

It’s amazing how much I love this little person which didn’t even exist a few months ago.

It’s terrifying how much he depends on me, how much of his present and future life is in my hands.

It’s overwhelming how little he needs from me to have a happy, excited smile.

Sometimes I feel like my body is filled with some light substance, that is trapped inside me – but is reaching out to Timothy like a compass due North. It fills me up – the love for him. It squeezes my heart – the fear for him. It’s overwhelming.

Leave a Reply

