Timothy Update

19 Jul

Hi everyone! First of all – sorry for the quiet. I do read you all – but commenting from the phone is a lot of hassle. And so is posting…

Timothy… what’s up? We started solids three days ago. He LOVED it. Seriously, he almost wrestled the spoon from my hand. And since then I figured out that he prefers his rice cereal all watered-down – he actually screams in protest when I finish the feeding by wiping his face πŸ™‚ And his poop hasn’t been affected yet, no constipation or anything.

And I am glad that it’s not grown-up stinky yet, too πŸ™‚

Anyway, today he really knew how to eat, opening up his mouth and licking the food off the spoon properly.

He learned rolling over from tummy to back (although every now and then he forgets that he knows how to do that). But enforcing tummy time is much harder now πŸ™‚

He proceeded from grabbing feet in hands to grabbing one foot with both hands.

He is much better with grabbing things when I offer them to him, and holding on to them, too.

He loves jumping, when I support him.

We go to the outdoor community pool almost every day, he loves it. The first time there he was just staring – so many people in colourful swimsuits around! But now he starts enjoying it. We sit on the steps where water reaches up to his waist and he jumps there. Or tries to stand, leaning onto the next step. He looks very cool in his sunglasses πŸ™‚

He can sit unsupported for a couple of seconds, leaning on his arms.

He is teething. He has crying bouts now every so often and he became wakeful. While he used to sleep until about 5 am without waking up, now he wakes up at 12, 2, 4, 6, 7… But the pacifier puts him back to sleep right away (phew!)

And while I tried to stop feeding him at 5 am before, all it ever lead to was him waking up more often. But since he is waking up all the time now, and since he now eats solids, I decided to try and stop feeding him at night again. So far, so good. I feed him at 7:30 pm and then when we start the day – at 7:30-8 am. And he doesn’t wake up ravenous. And – bonus! – his diaper does resemble a bowling ball πŸ™‚

He is 5.5 months old. I love him to pieces. He is so interactive, he plays games, he gets the concept of picaboo, he coughs to draw attention, he laughs and giggles, and he says “mama” when he is very upset. Internet says at this age it has nothing to do with me, but still – melts my heart πŸ™‚

12 Responses to “Timothy Update”

  1. babiesandus July 19, 2012 at 3:25 PM #

    Great to hear things are going so well!

  2. Mrs FF July 19, 2012 at 3:30 PM #

    Hey Zy, great to know T is doing well. Was just wondering today it’s been so long since you updated.

    • zygotta July 23, 2012 at 9:51 AM #

      All is great, I’m just too busy πŸ™‚
      My sister and niece are here for a couple of weeks!

  3. BleedingTulip July 19, 2012 at 3:53 PM #

    I can picture it all in my head and it is adorableness πŸ™‚

  4. St. Elsewhere July 20, 2012 at 3:22 AM #

    So awesome to read about Timothy.

    Figlia is still not ready to drop her nightly feeds. And I do not which to consider better. If she does not feed, she wakes up by 5:30 – 6, and does not sleep even if I give her milk. If she feeds in between, she tends to wake up around 6:45 – 7ish….just don’t know what to focus on right now…

    • zygotta July 23, 2012 at 9:52 AM #

      You know what, Timothy isn’t ready, either – he still requires feeds at 5-6 am (and then goes back to sleep), regardless of anything. Rarely a pacifier works, but of the time he’s ravenous! So yes – we shall wait until he’s ready…

  5. Sam July 20, 2012 at 4:32 AM #

    He sounds like he is developing in leaps and bounds my friend. Enjoy him to the max – it really does get better with each passing day.

    xxx

    • zygotta July 23, 2012 at 9:53 AM #

      he’s so awesome and interactive now, i just love it!

  6. Artistmouse July 20, 2012 at 7:21 AM #

    Has he gotten to the point where you can’t make a move without knowing where you are? AJ has been doing this for a while. Even with my husband, she’ll whip her head around to make sure I’m still there. Sometimes she’ll start to cry and my hubby swears it sounds like she’s saying mamma. πŸ™‚

    • zygotta July 23, 2012 at 9:57 AM #

      No, not really. He sometimes gets a bit sad whenever he sees me going up the stairs. However, as part of our nighttime routine, my hubby changes the diaper and puts on the pj’s – and when he puts Timothy upright on his shoulder and he sees me – he gives me the biggest smile: “There’s my mom!!!”

  7. Mrs. E July 22, 2012 at 8:13 PM #

    Aww he sounds adorable! The “ma ma” would melt my heart too! So glad the pacifier helps him back to sleep–I can’t believe he’s already teething!

    • zygotta July 23, 2012 at 9:57 AM #

      Teething isn’t quite as unbelievable as eating solids, I find πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

