Not Ready

23 Jul

Every time I think Timothy is ready to drop his nighttime feed, he proves me wrong. For a night or two the pacifier works as the 4-6 am feeding replacement, but then the third night comes and there is no soothing back to sleep. He is crying, increasing the volume, spitting out the paci.

And all those theories that solids help, dreamfeed helps – are all fantasies. At least for us.

We started solids – he eats his cereal just before the nighttime nursing. He still wakes up for his 4-6 am feed.

The other day we were out (with Timothy). I fed him his cereal in the restaurant, gave him the boob and he fell asleep in his carseat. When we got home, I decided to dreamfeed him a bit while transferring him from the carseat to his crib.

So he ate cereal in the evening AND he had a dreamfeed. He still woke up at 5 am to eat.

So…

I guess he is just not ready.

Whatever – he sleeps so well most of the time that one feed per night is totally fine!

10 Responses to “Not Ready”

  1. Babylicious July 23, 2012 at 12:02 PM #

    Even with solids, we took a long time before he didn’t need to eat at night. Be patient..it’ll happen πŸ™‚

    • zygotta July 23, 2012 at 1:57 PM #

      I’m sure it will πŸ™‚
      while I am not working, waking up is fine. Especially if it’s only once a night πŸ™‚

  2. babiesandus July 23, 2012 at 2:13 PM #

    Just goes to show you all babies are so different! I am certain it will come, hopefully before you have to go back to work.

    • zygotta July 24, 2012 at 12:25 PM #

      Oh, I don’t have to go back until February (when Timothy will be 1 yo) – so I really hope it will be all in the past by then πŸ™‚

  3. BleedingTulip July 23, 2012 at 9:16 PM #

    I’d never heard of “dreamfeeding” before!
    I’m sure it will happen, is there some kind of “cut off”, where by x age they nutritionally for sure and certain don’t need it anymore? I’ve been trying to read up on various parenting philosophies, it’s do hard to decide what is a “need” and what is a “want/habit” with so many conflicting views out there!

    • zygotta July 24, 2012 at 12:31 PM #

      dreamfeed is giving the boob just before you go to bed. Like, baby’s bedtime starts at 8 pm, but you go to bed at 11 pm – you pick up the baby, feed him without really waking him up, put back in the bed. Some swear it helps babies sleep a bit longer.

      As to when the night feeds are not necessary – I spoke to a sleep doula and she said after 2 months most babies don’t NEED the night time feed any longer (except for preemies – they take a bit longer). And it’s trues – Timothy started having an occasional all-nighter when he turned 2 mos. But while his night time sleep keeps increasing (he now sleeps for 8-9 hours straight), the increase comes from going to bed earlier. He still wakes up at 4-6 am, just like when he was a newborn and his betime was midnight (now his bedtime is 8 pm).

  4. St. Elsewhere July 24, 2012 at 12:46 AM #

    Uh, the thing about babies learning to sleep on their own from 6-9 months seems mythical, as does the sleeping all night part.

    From what I understood by talking to others, babies usually do that around 15 months or so on an average. One feed a night is fine by me too. You know, Figlia sometimes still wakes up more than one feed on an occasional night.

    There is a limit to how much one can condition an infant.

    I give Figlia cereal on her second-last feed. Her last feed is milk.

    • zygotta July 24, 2012 at 12:32 PM #

      lots of babies sleep all night at this age – some do, some don’t… I guess it all depends.
      At 6-9 mos they teethe – so I doubt they are supposed to be great sleepers now, anyway…

  5. ifserenitynow July 24, 2012 at 12:53 AM #

    I enjoy night feedings. Special
    Cuddle time πŸ™‚

    • zygotta July 24, 2012 at 12:35 PM #

      I love the last feed of the day – it is usually 30-40 minutes long, a relaxing, slow, quiet time for both of us. Night time feeds are half-asleep for both of us, I barely am conscious. Thank god Timothy is old enough now to hang on to the boob on his own. I remember the days when I had to hold him, hold the boob, and struggle to prevent him from losing it.

Leave a Reply

