Aside

GrrrRRRRrrrr!!!….

2 Aug

I need to learn how to deal with people.

Yes, I know that my son is adorable. And I know you, perfect stranger on the street, are enamoured. It is sort of okay if you touch my son’s feet.

It is NOT okay to touch his hands. He licks and bites his hands – and who knows where your hands have been?

And DEFINITELY NOT OKAY to pull the pacifier out of his mouth just because you wanted to see his face!!!

I boil inside and say nothing. I need to learn to brush people away.

12 Responses to “GrrrRRRRrrrr!!!….”

  1. BleedingTulip August 2, 2012 at 1:37 PM #

    Ya… I think I would be telling people to back off. I think I would just be like “I have no idea who you are, you need to step back from my baby.” Don’t stay silent – it’s not just about germs (although I understand your concerns) – who knows if they could be thinking about kidnapping or something? I’m not trying to be overly dramatic, but there are creeps everywhere!
    I feel the same way about my dogs sometimes, so I will lie and tell people my dogs bite (even though they never have). I’ve even heard of some owners telling strangers their dogs have AIDS (dogs don’t get AIDS-at least not like people do). But I would come up with something, some one-line-response that you can say quickly to get people to back off. You’re the mom, trust your gut.

    • zygotta August 6, 2012 at 7:47 AM #

      ahaha that’s hysterical – dogs with AIDS :)))
      maybe I should start telling people Timothy bites :))))
      bites so hard his nickname is super-gum :)))

      • BleedingTulip August 6, 2012 at 11:46 AM #

        SuperGum!!! He definitely needs a cape then! And some kind of mask… That’s attached to his paci! Ooo, the ideas abound 🙂

        • BleedingTulip August 6, 2012 at 11:47 AM #

          (can you tell I’m running on approximately 4 hours of sleep???)

  2. St. Elsewhere August 3, 2012 at 3:32 AM #

    Pulling the paci out to see the baby’s face? So not done!

  3. babiesandus August 3, 2012 at 8:18 AM #

    I am with you on that one!

  4. theonethatlovesyou August 3, 2012 at 9:02 AM #

    WHAT?! That would freak me out…oh my!

  5. Mrs FF August 4, 2012 at 6:02 AM #

    Yikes! Sound awful. Short of you carrying hand sanitiser around and asking people to clean their hands before they touch your baby, you have to learn to ask people not to touch. Touch the baby’s cheeks maybe if really required, but truthfully you can admire a baby without physical contact.

    • zygotta August 6, 2012 at 7:49 AM #

      I agree. I just am so used to living in the world of polite smiles with strangers and polite little chit-chats about nothing – I have no idea how to tell people to back off without getting all rude

Leave a Reply

