Going transatlantic. Part one

6 Aug

Timothy and I have been planning to fly to Russia for a while but straightening out all the papetwork took much longer than expected. Finally all was ready on Wednesday, I immediately bought tickets for the following day with lufthansa – apparently, their bassinets are the biggest. Which is important when you have a 20-pound baby.

This is the beginning of the story which I started to type midair.

We arrived at the airport about 3-2.5 hours ahead of time only to discover a gynormous lineup: there were three flights leaving at the same time. The shorter lineup for the baggage drop-off was for those who checked in online – which I wasn’t able to do due to last-minute ticket purchase. After standing in line for 50 minutes (timothy had enough time to fall asleep,Β  have a nap, and wake up again), we approach the counter and immediatly it becomes obvious there is a problem with the tickets. We are asked to step back and wait while they figure things out.

Turned out that they didn’t receive the information about my ticket at all! Again – because it was last minute and because I bought it over the phone.

They send me to talk to some other guy who, figuring out the tickets, informs me that there are no bassinets available.

That’s when I lost it. I went through this all, getting a lufthansa ticket because they have roomy bassinets, to end up with timothy in my lap for 8 hours? While the sales rep on the phone yesterday assured me there were 3 bassinets available???

I returned to the counter fuming. The lady there (who got wooed by Timothy’s charm) looked into this and bumped someone out of their seat and assigned me a bassinet seat.

It was 5:30 – my flight was at 6:40.

Hurrying to the security where I couldn’t fold the stroller to send it thru the xray. I had to ask a perfect stranger to hold Timothy while I was trying to figure out how to fold it.

And then there was only enough time to race thru the looong corridors to the gate where they already started seating the passengers.

I bypassed the lineup being a mom with a Baby and again couldn’t figure out how to fold the stroller and had to ask someone to hold timothy.

Finally we were aboard the plane. It was waaaaay past Timothy’s meal time so I sat him on my seat, sat in front of him and started feeding him the cereal – and that’s when he started screaming and went into an all-out red-faced, loud-screeching tantrum.

Yikes. I managed to staff the cereal in his screaming face and proceeded to nursing him when the family that got bumped out of their seats arrived: parents with three kids – they really wanted to seat together.

Long story short, it turned out that out of 4 abailable bassinets only 2 were taken when I was arguing back at the registration. The seats in front of the bassinets were assigned, but not the bassinets!Β  So they got those childless people to move, got me into their seats, let that big family sit together.

And I ended up with am empty seat next to, although it was quite useless as they were the seats where the armrest could not be lifted.

And that’s when timothy started screaming again. I quieted him down (for the takeoff he had to be seated on my lap) and he was quietly listening to my songs all throughout takeoff. Not a sound out of him!

And then screaming again. Nursing him didn’t change much and I realized he is just tired as it is his bedtime. I quickly changed him right in his bassinet (and he got very happy the momemt he lied down and even happier when he caught the familiar smell of his pajamas) and happily fell asleep almost instantaneously. Once, when another baby started screaming, Timothy cried a bit without even waking up, but he slept the whole way.

The problem is that I didn’t sleep. And probably won’t sleep while in frankfurt. And probably won’t sleep on the plane to moscow as it’s a short haul flight and there are no bassinets there and I can’t see how I will be able to sleep with timothy on my lap. Well, I have a carrier so maybe I will try and strap him to me – if he allows me. He is not a big fan.

Flight was uneventful. There was some medical emergency aboard the plane when they asked if there was a doctor onboard and I was impressed how quickly two doctors materialized. The guy is okay. Don’t know what was wrong but he isΒ  okay now.

Alright, they are serving breakfast and then we will start our descent. Which means I will have to wake up Timothy 😦

Will continue this later.

18 Responses to “Going transatlantic. Part one”

  1. babiesandus August 7, 2012 at 9:48 AM #

    Wow you have a lot of guts lady! All the best and enjoy the travelling!

    • zygotta August 8, 2012 at 4:21 AM #

      Thanks πŸ™‚

  2. BleedingTulip August 7, 2012 at 10:08 PM #

    Oh wow! What a start to your trip. I had no idea planes even HAD bassinets, so that’s good to know if we ever take a big flight like that with our baby. Russia is one place I REALLY want to go, please take lots and lots of pictures and post them all!!!! I can’t wait to hear all about the trip! What spurred you to go? Have you been there before? And I really really hope Timothy lets you get some sleep!!!

    • zygotta August 8, 2012 at 4:20 AM #

      πŸ™‚
      Kira, I am Russian – I went to get Timothy to meet his grandparents. So there won’t be any sightseeing, and no pics, I’m afraid…

      • BleedingTulip August 8, 2012 at 12:00 PM #

        Oh cool! Actually, I’m not much a fan of touristy crap- when I travel I always try to find/do whatever the locals do, gives a much better sense of what it’s like to live there. So bring on the family pics of Timothy and his grandparents! πŸ™‚

  3. Mrs FF August 8, 2012 at 3:47 PM #

    Sounds tedious!!!! Wonder why paper work takes so long sometimes. Just glad you had a good trip despite the initial hassles and hope the return journey won’t be as drama full

    I’m sure your family must be very happy to have Timothy around, hope you don’t come back with one ‘spoilt’ baby, considering what grandparents can be like with ther grandkids πŸ™‚ πŸ˜‰

    Enjoy your time with family. Trust you will have loads and loads of pictures

    • zygotta August 9, 2012 at 4:58 AM #

      Thank you! The drama continues, more on it in my next post…

  4. theonethatlovesyou August 8, 2012 at 6:24 PM #

    Oh wow, I’m stressed just reading this. And you went on your own? Man, you are brave!!! I’m asking my husband to make the first trip with me and also in first class, else I cannot begin to imagine it. I’m planning to take Fernando to meet his grandparents in 2months time and already dreading it. 12hr flight Lima to Amsterdam and then 1,5hr Amsterdam to Prague. With all the waiting around, it’s roughly 18hr journey if no connection is missed.
    I better start practising how to fold our stroller…because honestly I haven’t had the need to do it yet….Enjoy homeland xxx

    • zygotta August 9, 2012 at 4:59 AM #

      you know, the flight itself wasn’t too bad. I mean, it’s not much different than our normal days together – I spend all my time with him. The problem is me getting no sleep…

      • theonethatlovesyou August 9, 2012 at 10:02 AM #

        I just find travelling stressful, even by myself, so with a baby …I’m stressing already :)))

        • zygotta August 13, 2012 at 6:38 AM #

          I am so used to it… I travel a lot. Well, used to before I got preggo – but even when I was preggo, I flew three times (not transatlantic, though :))

          • theonethatlovesyou August 15, 2012 at 8:37 AM #

            Me too, but still it’s not my favorite thing to do transatlantic, I’ve done it couple of times so far. mentally preparing myself for this time round with a baby πŸ˜€

            • zygotta August 17, 2012 at 2:20 PM #

              I suppose your flight is much, much longer – from Lima? Mine was 7.5 hours to Frankfurt and then another 3.5 to Moscow… Not too bad.

  5. St. Elsewhere August 9, 2012 at 5:11 AM #

    Ahhh…that looks like a mad rush.

    A screaming baby is no fun. Keeping the mental balls together becomes difficult when the baby is throwing a tantrum. Glad you survived it all!

    I hope you have fun in Russia…Isn’t hubby with you?

    • zygotta August 9, 2012 at 5:15 AM #

      no, we decided to save his vacation days for a sun destination later in the year

      • St. Elsewhere August 9, 2012 at 5:17 AM #

        Sounds like a good idea… πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

