Going transatlantic. Part 2

9 Aug

The surprising part was that waking up my baby boy was no problem. The windows were open, it was bright daylight inside, so even though it was 2 am Toronto time, when I picked Timothy from his bassinet, he gave me a broad smile.

Frankfurt airport is one of those annoying airports where they bus you to the terminal. They brought two buses and just sat there, waiting for everyone to get on, packed as sardines (I spent my time trying to guard Timothy from people’s luggage), and brought us to the building. It was a 3-hour connection, but it took me so long to get through security (folding-unfolding the stroller, again! and then I beeped so they did the search thing with the little radar), to find a changing room, to nurse, to buy something for my niece in the duty-free, that by the time I was done with all this stuff, it was boarding time.

Timothy was sleeping-eating-watching. He was so awesome!

So I am sitting at the gate, surprised they aren’t boarding, when someone approached me and told me they switched gates (why do they always do that????)

Racing through the airport, jumping the line (yay to flying with babies), sweating the stroller-folding, timothy-stranger-holding routine, and we’re aboard the plane for the 3.5 hours to Moscow. We had the whole row to ourselves, so after take-off I put Timothy down on the seat next to me and stretched my legs to prevent him from falling. But when the turbulence started, I had to take him in my arms and that’s when the dangerous thing happened: I fell asleep with Timothy in my arms. Man, just imagine if I dropped him… Yikes. Thankfully, all was well – and I didn’t sleep for long, I am guessing 20 minutes. And that was all the sleep I got that night/day.

Arriving in Moscow, I was instantly reminded just how inconsiderate everything is there. I was given my stroller at the airplane door, and then… had to carry Timothy in a stroller three floors down. Just fantastic!

Gladly, the customs lineup was fast, the baggage was already on the conveyor, and we were in my dad’s and sister’s arms in no time.

After about 5 minutes in the car I realized I needed to nurse Timothy, so we stopped on some parking lot, I nursed him, and we proceeded. Timothy was exhausted, looking unhappy, and whining.

To be continued…

4 Responses to “Going transatlantic. Part 2”

  1. St. Elsewhere August 9, 2012 at 5:21 AM #

    The sleep deprivation is not good at all, and not fun. The funny bit is that we never get used to the lack of sleep.

    Switching gates is not awesome either….

    looking forward to reading the next instalment and what happened next with Timothy.

    • zygotta August 9, 2012 at 5:33 AM #

      going this way is always hard with the time zones
      because you don’t wanna sleep until 7-8 am local time, it’s just horrible
      coming back is easy – you go to bed early wake up early, fully rested, and gradually adjust back to the norm

  2. Mrs FF August 9, 2012 at 6:55 AM #

    And I thought there was enough drama in part 1 😦
    Glad you arrived safely.

    BTW, do babies suffer from jet-lag too?

    One lesson for all mums from your experience :- make sure you can fold and unfold baby’s stroller with one hand (in case you have to travel alone)

    • zygotta August 13, 2012 at 6:40 AM #

      You know what – no, they almost don’t. If it’s dark, then it’s night, as far as babies are concerned. Timothy was sleeping through the nights from the very first night. The only difference was that for the first few days, his morning naps (when it’s night time in Toronto), his naps were much longer then usual. And that’s it. Soooooo easy.

Leave a Reply

