6 months

13 Aug

With a bit of a delay – here is the 6-month update!

Timothy is 6 months old already. Half a year! In another 6 months, he will be one year old. He will go to daycare.

We bought and installed the real carseat – he outgrew his infant carseat. He weighs about 21 pounds. I feel so emotional about this milestone. No more infant carseat. He is not such a baby anymore…

He seats up pretty good. I sit on the floor behind him with my legs stretched on either side of him, just in case. He does fall over – but he stays seated for 5 minutes without falling, especially if he is occupied – with toys with buttons, for example.

He stands firmly, too. Two or three weeks ago I pulled him by his hands, intending to get him to sit up – but instead he stood up! And he does that ever since. I hold him by his hands, for balance, but he stands up on his own – and loves it! Giggles and performs semi sit-downs with excitement 🙂

He is one strong baby.

We proceeded from cereals to purees – he loved his carrot puree; pumpkin gave him a bit of a rash on his bum. At least, I think that was pumpkin that caused it. I am waiting a few days before I try again.

Not even once did he have diaper rash while he was EBF…

Two days ago he had his first grown-up poop, which wasn’t liquid. It was a real poop. It wasn’t dry and hard, and Timothy didn’t cry (in fact, I don’t even know when he pooped – I just noticed the smell afterwards) – but still, I got worried that he might not be getting enough liquids, so I am figuring out how to get him to drink water. He refuses water from bottle. He drinks quite well from a cup, but it’s hard to ensure he doesn’t gulp too much. We are experimenting with sippy cups now.

He learned how to pass objects from one hand to the other. It feels like he is doing this now just because he enjoys it – picks something up with his right hand, passes it to the left hand, bring the left hand to his far left, then back, passing the object to the right hand again. It’s fascinating to watch.

He plays. He loves picaboo. He blows raspberries. He especially enjoys it when he eats (spitting cereal in every direction).

He discovered shrieking. Which is fine when it’s an expression of delight, but the other day he was shrieking in a very shrill fashion when he was crying – he got me scared. I thought he was in pain! But no, he was just exercising his vocal cords…

He loves noses. I lean to him and he touches my nose, always ending up with his fingers in one of my nostrils :/

He is very gentle – he touches things gently. There are some toys he knows he can yank, but usually he is gentle and he releases when I touch his hand. So there’s no hair pulling and I can wear necklaces, no problem. He touches the necklace, admiring it, but doesn’t yank.

Now that Timothy seats up, it’s so much more fun playing with him, like building block towers (soft, fabric blocks) and letting him destroy them 🙂

No teeth, although teeth are bothering him.

He sleeps from 8 to 8, still waking up once to eat, around 5 am. He naps 3 times, sometimes four (if he wakes up earlier than usual).

And he is starting to manipulate. It is so obvious that he sometimes cries consciously trying to get my attention, overdoing it. I am trying to react without overreacting, to send signal that yelling won’t get him anywhere 🙂

Ah, he is growing so fast…

11 Responses to “6 months”

  1. St. Elsewhere August 13, 2012 at 6:28 AM #

    Happy 6 months, Timothy…

    It is true…things start to get more fun when the kids begin sitting up.

    And what is it with standing? Figlia loves that too.

    • zygotta August 13, 2012 at 6:36 AM #

      I think they are very aware of the “I can!” factor that standing brings, if that makes sense

      • St. Elsewhere August 13, 2012 at 6:42 AM #

        Oh yes, the ‘I can’ does make a difference!

  2. babiesandus August 14, 2012 at 9:44 AM #

    What a lovely update! Sounds like Timothy is a great little boy and you guys are doing really well.

    • zygotta August 15, 2012 at 2:59 AM #

      he is awesome, just awesome! 🙂

  3. Mrs. E August 15, 2012 at 9:59 AM #

    Omgoodness, six months! He sounds like such a cutie–the image of him crying to get your attention, lol! I can’t believe how quickly time has passed. Just six more months and we will be getting the year update. Holy cow!

    • zygotta August 17, 2012 at 2:17 PM #

      …and he’ll start daycare… sigh…

  4. St. Elsewhere August 16, 2012 at 6:41 AM #

    Hi Zygotta, regarding your question on my post…

    I am hoping Figlia is ready to sleep through the night, but I can’t be sure if that particular night was an exception or it will become a trend. She has been waking up in the night, only though, she does take a feed only in the morning.

    Second question: Yeah…she took her feed at 5:15 am and then slept till 6:45. Spectacular feat.

    • zygotta August 17, 2012 at 2:17 PM #

      ah, it’s the best – crawling back into bed for some more sleep 🙂

  5. Mrs FF August 17, 2012 at 10:50 AM #

    A great update on baby Timothy. Hard to believe he is 6 months already, seems like yesterday you posted about his birth.

    Such a gentle soul you have there (on the no hair or necklace pulling, that’s amazing)

    • zygotta August 17, 2012 at 2:18 PM #

      I think he truly is a gentle soul – his voice is so tender, I just love listening to him babbling, runs like honey over my heart 🙂

Leave a Reply

