On Older Dads

1 Aug

I read a long article today about late parents, fertility treatments and alarmingly growing birth defect growth and mental disorders.

It actually focused on the effect that older dads – not moms – have on the future child’s health and well-being. Which made me feel really sad.

I always focused primarily on my own age and fertility. I always hoped to have three kids.

I doubted it to be possible when it turned out I needed treatments to get pregnant. I redoubled my optimism when I got pregnant for the second time on my own – after all, I’ll still be 34 when my second baby is born. That leaves enough time to take a breather and decide if we still want – and are ready for – another baby.

But hubby is 8 years older than I am. Having read all those morbid stays, I am not so sure. It almost feels irresponsible attempting to have another child when risks are so much higher. When we already have a kid.

Now I know many happy families with older dads – with perfectly normal kids. It’s all stats. It’s all percentages. Even if the probability of something increases threefold – if it was low to begin with, than it’s not that big of a deal, is it?

Something to ponder.

Wrong time to read something like that – while being pregnant …

2 Responses to “On Older Dads”

  1. BleedingTulip August 1, 2013 at 7:54 PM #

    Just my two cents… Sometimes those articles can take their statistics and shove it where the sun don’t shine! You have to make decisions for your family based on how you and your husband feel about desiring more children. Take the article, wad it up in a ball and toss it in the trash. 🙂

  2. Mrs FF August 2, 2013 at 12:09 PM #

    I have to say I agree with Tulip. Some peopel just don’t have the luxury of choice of having kids earlier…

Leave a Reply

