On hiding pregnancy

8 Aug

We a have a cocktail hour scheduled at 3 pm today. Now how do I pretend to be drinking?..

15 Responses to “On hiding pregnancy”

  1. Artistmouse August 8, 2013 at 12:45 PM #

    Swap glasses with your hubby throughout the evening. When he’s taken a few sips, switch and keep switching until you’re holding an empty glass.

    • zygotta August 8, 2013 at 7:45 PM #

      That was an employee-only thing. I ended up walking around with a cocktail and then ditching it πŸ™‚

  2. Anonymous August 8, 2013 at 1:09 PM #

    Why do you have to pretend you are drinking? You are an adult aren’t you? If anyone asks, and it really is none of their business,you could plain out make up a lie or just say I am choosing not to drink today. Or you could walk around with a “virgin”drink to give the appearance you are drinking. What a joke!

    • Melanie August 8, 2013 at 1:55 PM #

      Well, that was a bit rude! No she doesn’t owe anybody a reason. But if I were around a woman I know, that usually drinks at such an event and was suddenly not drinking, my first thought would be, pregnant or trying. And if she doesn’t want people to suspect yet, then yes, pretending to drink is a good idea.

      I’d order virgin drinks or a soda when others aren’t in earshot and they most likely won’t pay any attention to whats in your hand. Or just drink water and tell people you are trying to lose weight and alcohol isn’t worth the calories. Your pregnancy bloat should help with that story. πŸ˜‰

      • zygotta August 8, 2013 at 7:42 PM #

        Exactly – people notice. I work for a liquor company, so it’s not like we’re ordering drinks – they are just sitting here, ready for you to taste. So while ordering a virgin cocktail would have been an easy way out in a normal resto/bar – it doesn’t work here.

        I ended up grabbing a cocktail with a straw, walking around with it, pretending to drink and stir – and then abandon it in the corner πŸ™‚

    • zygotta August 8, 2013 at 7:39 PM #

      Well, people rarely ask – but they do make assumptions. And I am not ready for others to know – yet.

      And I work for a liquor company – so there’s no ordering. You just walk in and there they are – already pre-made cocktails to grab and enjoy. No virgin versions available.

  3. Mrs FF August 8, 2013 at 4:19 PM #

    Just order a virgin drink. Easier than having to make up a lie or pretending to drink.

    • zygotta August 8, 2013 at 7:43 PM #

      I work for a liquor company, so it’s not like we’re ordering drinks – they are just sitting here, ready for you to taste. So while ordering a virgin cocktail would have been an easy way out in a normal resto/bar – it doesn’t work here.
      I ended up walking around with a cocktail in hand and then ditching it πŸ™‚

      • Mrs FF August 10, 2013 at 2:17 PM #

        Oh my!!! Guess ordering a virgin drink when you work for a liquor company will be a dead give away especially if you are not a known teetotaler

  4. Anonymous August 8, 2013 at 10:43 PM #

    Sorry if I offended you with my comment. I couldn’t quite understand your need to “pretend.” It makes sense now that I hear you work for a liquor company and that the expectation to drink would be much more likely.

    • zygotta August 10, 2013 at 1:02 PM #

      No worries πŸ™‚
      In my head it was obvious why I have to pretend – so I didn’t go into too much detail… forgetting that others don’t πŸ™‚

  5. Mrs. E August 9, 2013 at 10:00 AM #

    Glad you figured out a way to deal with the situation! I rarely drink, but even though my friends know that, they still suspected something was up when I refused a drink earlier this pregnancy. I think it’s a common assumption, so I totally understand your concern!

    • zygotta August 10, 2013 at 1:03 PM #

      Yes. When you’re that age – people always scrutinize and make assumptions. There are a couple other girls in the same category – fairly recently married, in their early thirties… everyone’s watching them, you could tell.

  6. Julia August 10, 2013 at 9:05 AM #

    I usually just say that I’m on medication. Always helps. If there are really no non-alcoholic beverages then take your own drink along.

    • zygotta August 10, 2013 at 1:04 PM #

      I use this every now and then. But as I just had a real UTI a couple of months ago (well, maybe three) – I didn’t want to pull the antibiotics card again… yet.

Leave a Reply

