First Gyno Appointment

12 Aug

Had my first Gyno appointment today.

We had some discussion around c-section vs VBAC. When kids are less than 2 years apart, they pretty much force you into c-section. Our kids will be just a bit over 2 years apart – so I have the choice. But for the VBAC, there’s not stimulation. So if, like last time, I don’t go into labour on my own – and if my labour isn’t progressing – I might have to suffer through very, very long labour. And, chances are my next baby will be just as big, if not bigger.

Bottom line, she says if I don’t feel very strongly about vaginal birth, there’s no reason risking it. I have time to decide until my next appointment in 4 weeks. Because apparently c-sections have to be scheduled that far in advance! Shock.

I got my referral to the down syndrome ultrasound – which we hope will help us establish my EDD. According to my cycle, the EDD is March 2. According to my calculations – it’s March 9. We need to know to book the c-section appropriately.

And the doppler revealed a beautiful heartbeat. I wasn’t sure if we’ll hear it today – I read that at 10 weeks it might be picked up only if you’re very slim. Well, I guess I am very slim 🙂

The Gyno smiled and said “hmmm, I think a girl”.

The heart was beating really fast.

And the whole experience of sitting in that waiting room again, less that 18 months since my last time, somehow made this whole pregnancy that much more real. Discussing birth. Hearing the heartbeat. Sitting among humongously pregnant women.

I am pregnant, people. I am pregnant.

I wonder if I might be ready to start sharing the news with the family.

13 Responses to “First Gyno Appointment”

  1. St. Elsewhere August 13, 2013 at 3:26 AM #

    Congrats on being in the whole thing by completely bypassing the TTC again grinder!

    Slim, eh? Belly Pics, lady!

    • zygotta August 13, 2013 at 10:32 PM #

      I finally took my first belly pic on Sunday!
      Will upload it when I get a chance 🙂

      and thanks on congrats – now that I am starting to realize that I am, indeed, pregnant – NOW I am starting to really feel elated about bypassing the TTC…

  2. Sam August 13, 2013 at 8:54 AM #

    Awesome news! Did you speak to hear about the weird spotting?

    xxx

    • zygotta August 13, 2013 at 10:33 PM #

      she thinks it’s leftover implantation. Perhaps the baby implanted in the c-section scar area. She was not concerned at all, but suggested no sex until it stops completely

      • Sam August 14, 2013 at 8:51 AM #

        That’s a relief. Glad it’s nothing sinister. xx

  3. Mrs. E August 13, 2013 at 10:22 PM #

    Yes, you are pregnant =) I’m so glad you got to hear the heartbeat, too! I am amazed that C-sections have to be scheduled so far in advance…wow. I look forward to seeing which way you decide, and also to find out when your EDD is! So exciting!

    • zygotta August 13, 2013 at 10:34 PM #

      I know, it feels like in Canada everything to do with kids should be done well in advance. Signing up for daycares before a child is even born, applying for schools like 2 years in advance, etc.

      I am leaning towards c-section. I’ll write up more on my thoughts on this matter.

  4. Mrs FF August 14, 2013 at 8:20 AM #

    In SA it is the same, at least with the medical insurance I have you are advised to get authorisation for the birth as early as 12 weeks into the pregnancy and you have to tell them the date you will be having the baby which is weird considering how these dates move around depending on the baby’s growth!!! And yes you have to book everything way in advance creche, school etc.

    I will love to here your thoughts on C-Section

    • Mrs FF August 14, 2013 at 8:21 AM #

      PS: we didnt share the news with family until 18 weeks. Easy to do as I wasn’t showing at all

      • zygotta August 14, 2013 at 8:37 AM #

        I showed earlier than that with both. However, that’s not the reason we shared with the family. They all live far away, we see most of our relatives once a year, if even that. We just wanted to share.

        We might have shared even earlier, were it not for the spotting.

  5. zygotta August 14, 2013 at 8:33 AM #

    Well, giving birth is covered by the free provincial healthcare, so thankfully I don’t need authorisations for that. But c-section means booking an operating room, anasthesiologist, doctor, etc. – I guess that’s why the booking.

  6. babiesandus August 22, 2013 at 9:23 AM #

    Good to hear that it is going well. I see you are having unexplained spotting, i did too, it went away after 12 weeks.
    All the best for the FAS, looking forward to hear if Timothy will be a little brother or sister richer.

    • zygotta August 22, 2013 at 8:12 PM #

      Thank you!
      Oh the anatomy scan is still a couple of months away…

      The spotting seems to have cleared. I’m 11.5 weeks 🙂

Leave a Reply

