Told my Boss

15 Aug

Informed my boss today that I am pregnant.

Tomorrow her 2.5 week vacation starts, so I feared that while she’s away, my pregnancy will have become too noticeable and… well, your boss should find from you, not from office gossips!

I’ve been trying to talk to her since Tuesday and finally managed to get a few minutes with her today. I think she was too overwhelmed with all the workload before vacation – so other than congratulating me, she didn’t really know what to say,

Well, in any case, the cat is out of the bag. Our families know, my boss knows… I’ll share the news with colleagues next week (I’m off tomorrow). So maybe I should share it with the whole wide world already. Idk. Something doesn’t let me.

It’s not like I have any specific milestone in mind: like an ultrasound or an official end of the first trimester. I just hesitate, for no obvious reason – but at the same time I burst to share. I think I will share, soon. Next week probably – after I announce to colleagues. Cause it might be awkward if they find out fro facebook, you know 🙂

I haven’t seen my spotting for the past couple of days. I guess that’s putting more weight on the “let’s tell everyone” side of scale…

8 Responses to “Told my Boss”

  1. Sam August 16, 2013 at 5:42 AM #

    It took me ages to let the cat out the bag officially as well. I think it was cos it just didnt’ “feel real” to me. I’m working on a post about feeling like a fraud and about how I’ve distanced myself from this pregnancy… but it’s all muddled in my head…

    Good luck in letting the whole world know – I know everyone is going to be so chuffed for you guys!

    xx

    • zygotta August 16, 2013 at 8:11 AM #

      I saw this happening so I asked my family (I had a few relatives staying with us for three weeks) to keep telling me that I am pregnant. So that it sinks in. It helped a little bit. But that first gyno appointment, the back in that waiting room experience – made it feel soooooo real. That and the sound of the heartbeat 🙂

  2. Sam August 16, 2013 at 5:42 AM #

    PS – it still doesn’t really feel real to me either and I’m 17 weeks on Sunday 😉

    • zygotta August 16, 2013 at 8:15 AM #

      I’ll be 11 weeks on Sunday. Well, according to my calculations. And one more thing that makes it feel more real – I definitely popped. There’s no denying now.
      It still feels odd, but I am working on myself. I forced myself into reading about siblings, bringing a new baby home, etc. Instead of trying to believe I am pregnant, I am focusing on the baby in March. Somehow that was easier to believe in – maybe because it scares the hell out of me – having to small children? It’s always easier to believe in something you fear 🙂

  3. Mrs FF August 16, 2013 at 9:49 AM #

    Telling the boss is always a huge milestone. Congrats on taking another step forward.

    Raising a glass of virgin cocktail to no more spotting

  4. St. Elsewhere August 17, 2013 at 6:10 AM #

    Wise decision that. Unless you have specific reasons to not disclose, it is better that the boss knows directly rather than from the grapevine.

    • zygotta August 17, 2013 at 12:56 PM #

      To me it’s just the honest thing to do.
      I was going to tell her first anyway – I just worried that others would notice my pregnancy before she’s back from here vacation….

Leave a Reply

