First Movement?

27 Aug

I was having lunch with my colleagues when I felt it.

It was not gas, I’m sure. Gas usually moves from point A to point B. And it often is uncomfortable or downright painful. This felt more like a bubble turning around. Like a baby turning from one side to the other, in its sleep. Like it was with Timothy.

Now, internet generally says you can’t feel a baby at 12 weeks, it’s too small. Just about 2.5 inches. But then internet says most women start feeling movement around 20 weeks. With Timothy, I felt first movement at 15 weeks. And this is my second pregnancy, so I know much better what to be looking for. And if you ask me, something 2.5 inches long moving inside you doesn’t sound all that hard to feel.

I think that was it. The first baby movement. I am pregnant, I guess :p

8 Responses to “First Movement?”

  1. Sam August 28, 2013 at 8:39 AM #

    How awesome, I’ve only just started feeling movement with my number 2 the last few days. I’m 18 weeks and 3 days along. I only felt Kade close to 20 weeks tho and we know this baby is lying in an awkward spot so I am quite pleased to be feeling the flutters so soon.

    xxx

    • zygotta August 29, 2013 at 4:35 PM #

      I know, my friend had her placenta at the front of the uterus, and apparently it really intervened not only with her (or her hubby) being able to feel the baby move – but even with the doctor trying to find the heartbeat with the doppler, each time! So position matters!

      • Sam September 2, 2013 at 5:11 AM #

        yep that’s exactly it – I haven’t been able to find our bub with the doppler either cos of it. Also when we scanned early on my doc even battled to pick up the baby with an internal scan!

  2. Zoe Rose @ papillonroses August 28, 2013 at 2:51 PM #

    First, congratulations! I’m never sure how you’re supposed to know that early on- the uterus is pretty low down though and so I guess where you feel it helps!
    PS. We have a secret no.2 as well!! 12 weeks now but scan is next Tuesday so waiting for that to make it official;)

    • zygotta August 29, 2013 at 4:34 PM #

      Thank you!
      Yes, the movement was very, very low – right where the uterus is right now. And gas has no business being there šŸ™‚

      Congrats on your pregnancy! I am 12 weeks, too – unless my last week’s ultrasound proves me wrong šŸ™‚

  3. An Aspiring Mom to Be August 28, 2013 at 5:00 PM #

    I felt #2 moving way earlier than my first baby. Hooray for movement! Feeling a baby move is one of my favorite parts of pregnancy!

    • zygotta August 29, 2013 at 4:33 PM #

      Yes, I heard that unless the position is weird, or the placenta is in the way – you typically start feeling the movement earlier!
      Thanks!

  4. Mrs FF August 30, 2013 at 6:34 AM #

    That’s wonderful.

    I have heard you feel movement earlier with the 2nd pregnancy because you know what to look for. I think I only felt it for the first time around 18 week or was it 19 (not even sure now). I seriously believe there is no one size fit all when it comes to human anatomy.

Leave a Reply

