14 weeks and 2nd gyno appointment

11 Sep

I had my second gyno appointment on Monday.

My edd calculations confirmed. My actual edd has nothing to do with my lmp. My official due date is March 10.

I decided to go with c-section, for a number of reasons:
– my first labour was LONG. The extremely painful contractions weren’t doing much. And after c-section you’re not allowed stimulation (they fear the scar might tear from such intense contractions)

– Babies usually get bigger with each pregnancy, so if Timothy was 10 pounds, chances are the new baby will be just as big, if not bigger. I might suffer and fail to give birth again.

– Typically they oppose natural birth after c-section if kids are less than 2 years apart. Mine will be 25 months apart, hardly more than the recommended 2-year frame.

– We don’t have relatives here, so it will be easier planning Timothy’s whereabouts with a planned delivery. We’ll be able to make plans who will take care of him.

– Small perk: c-section and twin mamas get priority in line for private post-delivery rooms. And I dislike the idea of another mom, dad, and potentially screaming baby in the same room.

My doc also told me (after I announced my decision) that a planned c-section is usually easier. You are not exhausted after hours of labour, so the first hours with the baby are far more enjoyable. Your internal organs are not all swollen from labour efforts, so the healing will be easier and faster.

I am waiting for them to get back to me with the c-section date.

She measured my blood pressure and said it’s very low (which is sort of a good thing, better than high anyway). I added that I am exhausted and permanently cold – she checked my bloodwork and it looks like my hemoglobin is borderline low. So I will get a natural liquid iron supplement. Hopefully I’ll regain some energy and will stop freezing…

I totally forgot that to get the down syndrome testing results I need to do another blood test – in 2 weeks. So no results yet.

We listened to the heartbeat, strong and fast 🙂

So now I need to get iron supplements, pregvit refill, get my anatomy ultrasound scheduled, get my c-section scheduled, and get the second blood test done. I hope I manage to keep all this in my head!

I still haven’t gained much weight, about 3-4 pounds so far (compared to 10 at this point the first time around). But the bump is definitely there. Although not obvious enough for others to realize I’m pregnant 🙂

I am still craving spicy foods. Was very under-whelmed in a fine dine restaurant the other day with all their bland meats and fish. No spice, no herbs, I even needed to salt my food! Good thing I didn’t have to pay (corporate outing).

Timothy brought a nasty throat infection a week and a half ago, which he generously shared with me. Tough, when you can’t take any pills. The good thing is that, just like the last time, pregnancy gives my immune system a boost and I don’t get as sick as usual – I skipped the Niagara-Falls-like running nose phase. I hate that the most about getting sick.

7 Responses to “14 weeks and 2nd gyno appointment”

  1. Mrs. E September 11, 2013 at 10:28 PM #

    It sounds like you made the best decision given all your circumstances. I’m glad everything is going well (minus the cold of course!), and I can’t wait to find out when your scheduled c section is! Our EDDs are exactly 2 months apart 🙂

    • zygotta September 12, 2013 at 8:45 PM #

      I can’t believe you’ll have you second child before me – considering your twins are a few months younger! You’re brave 🙂

  2. St. Elsewhere September 12, 2013 at 3:49 AM #

    Well women here proudly show off the fact that they are planning and having nothing short of a natural birth, and look at you…such a fresh change in what you plan.

    BTW, I support you. When I went in with my post-loss pregnancy, I knew from the beginning that I would have a planned C-section and I was comfortable with it. I wish I could have done it the usual way, but then I have not been usual in the fertility department at all.

    And yes, with a chosen date, you will be able to plan for Timothy’s care too.

    Good Luck!

    • zygotta September 12, 2013 at 8:48 PM #

      Thanks for the support 🙂
      I think having gone through pregnancy and childbirth once, I became much less succeptible to what others pland and think.
      I did want the real experience the first time around (although I never, even for a minute, considered epidural-free birth :)), but having gone through it I know now that what count is healthy baby and healthy mom. The rest is unimportant.

  3. Mrs FF September 19, 2013 at 3:54 PM #

    So much planning to do. But it’s all good. Important thing is to have a healthy mommy and healthy baby at the end of the whole process. Who cares what others think of the decision we make. Hope you are feeling better now?

    Do you eat spicy food normally? I know I needed to add raw habanero peppers to my food until about 20 weeks for it to go down well

    • zygotta September 20, 2013 at 11:28 AM #

      Yes, I love spicy food – I just typically don’t crave it quite like now 🙂

      • Mrs FF September 20, 2013 at 12:04 PM #

        Well if that’s what you crave that’s good and not junk 😆

Leave a Reply

