Ahhhh, Now, That’s Better

20 Sep

For the past 2.5 months I was exhausted like never before. By 7 pm I would feel the way I usually feel after a long transatlantic flight and 2 days in a row without sleep. Only I felt like this every evening, despite sleeping 10 hours a day!

I was also constantly cold, and at my gyno appointment it turned out that my blood pressure was really low – as was my hemoglobin. So she concluded my iron is low.

Now, iron supplements usually mean constipation, right?

Wrong! It turns out that there are iron supplements in liquid form in natural stores (like mineral water… that tastes like you’re licking your sipper). And they do not cause constipation!

Long story short, after taking the very first dose of liquid iron, I felt totally okay that very evening! Amazing. Why did I suffer for so long, thinking it’s just first trimester tiredness…

2 Responses to “Ahhhh, Now, That’s Better”

  1. Mrs FF September 20, 2013 at 11:44 AM #

    Glad you are better. I also battled with headaches and dizziness, blood pressure was prrfect but a blood test revealed very very low iron levels (which the Gynae says he’s concerned about because more than 90% of his patients battle with low iron levels – so he thinks the drug companies might need to increase the iron levels in pregnancy vitamins). Lucky me though no constipation from it.

    • zygotta September 20, 2013 at 11:49 AM #

      apparently, the vitamin pills have like 10 times more iron than we need – but our bodies do not absorb it very well, so all the extra iron gets stuck in our intestines, getting us constipated. In liquid form, you only get as much iron as you actually need – and pretty much all of it gets absorbed!

Leave a Reply

