Gyno visit #3

16 Oct

I arrived there at 2:50 pm.

They finally called my name at 4:30 pm.

It was insanely hot in the waiting room. They moved offices – so I guess figuring out ventilation systems takes time. At least now they have enough seats for all the pregnant women (coincidentally, there were very few pregnant women there yesterday, very unusual).

Then it turned out they still didn’t get my down-syndrom-test-part-2 bloodwork (from 3 weeks ago!) They didn’t get my last week’s anatomy ultrasound results, either.

The doctor got her receptionist calling the clinics and was able to get an “oh, our fax is broken but the bottom line for the ultrasound is that everything is okay.” They couldn’t reach the other clinic – they closed for the day.

Hot and tires, I finally left the office at 5 pm (having spent there over 2 hours!) and raced to pick up Timothy from daycare. I made it there 5 minutes before the daycare closes. And tore my necklace while pulling out the stroller. My grandmother’s necklace. Thankfully, the beads are very big, so I was able to pick them all up.

Anyway, I was cranky to the point of criticizing the type of potatoes my hubby bought (instead of praising him for doing the groceries, which he hates). He knows me well enough to swallow all the criticism in silence.

Bottom line is that they called me today and my down syndrome test is fine. They don’t give specifics over the phone, but I am sure if they had any concerns, they would have raised hell.

So there you go. 19.5 weeks, 2 more pounds up in the past 5 weeks, anatomy scan good, down syndrome scan good, blood pressure was good (iron supplements seem to be helping).

But they decided to move my c-section date. I mentioned before they scheduled it mere 4 days prior to the due date. The last ultrasound made them doubt the correctness of this due date, so we’ll probably move it 2-3 days more. Which is still within the 40th week. Apparently, I am lucky: until 2 months ago, they were obligated to schedule all c-sections at 38 weeks (and that’s been the case for the past 15 years). They relaxed it 2 months ago, I get to benefit from this πŸ™‚

7 Responses to “Gyno visit #3”

  1. Mrs FF October 16, 2013 at 8:49 PM #

    Glad to hear all is well with the tests. But that wait was horrendous and too long. I hope it’s not like that every time you go? When is your next appt?

    • zygotta October 16, 2013 at 9:23 PM #

      well, I usually wait for 1-1.5 hours… that’s normal here in Canada, unfortunately

      my next appt is in 5 weeks ( should be every 4 weeks, but I can’t come in 4 weeks)

      how are you? you must be very close to giving birth?

  2. Mrs. E October 17, 2013 at 1:37 PM #

    So glad the ultrasound and blood work came back normal! Also, it’s great that you get to schedule the section in your 40th week. So much better than 38! Happy almost halfway point πŸ™‚

  3. theonethatlovesyou October 23, 2013 at 11:25 PM #

    They want to schedule me for 38wks, im trying to push for more, lets see!!!

Leave a Reply

