20 Weeks

20 Oct

Wow – time DOES fly by when it’s your second pregnancy and life is busy with a toddler, a hubby that studies on weekends, and demanding – but beloved job.

20 weeks. Half way through – well, more than that, actually – considering that I am scheduled for a c-section at about 39 weeks.

Baby is 20 weeks. Timothy is 20 months.

Oh Timothy… one minute my heart bursts from loving him, and then he drives me up the wall with his never-ending throwing of anything that can be thrown. Or with whining. Well, to be honest, those moments are rare. Mostly it’s love and admiration that I feel looking at him. He’s such a cool little boy, so smart and happy and strong. I’m just in a grumpy mood today.

It’s the headaches. I am so tired of them. They last for 1-2 days. I go to bed with them, I wake up with them. They’re the worst in the morning, especially if I start tossing and turning: whenever I turn on the other side, it feels like a burning piece of coal shifts from behind one eye to behind the other. It’s not too too bad when I am in an upright position – it’s more like a very heavy head just before a headache develops. Unless I need to lean, bend, or do anything else that makes my blood pressure spike. And, well, with the toddler in the house I need to do this all the time. Sigh.

Enough whining.

The baby is moving. Hubby already felt his kicks a couple of days ago and commented “oh, they’re weak”. Huh! Of course, he must be comparing them to Timothy’s kicks when he was about to get born at the whopping 10 pounds. This one is still t-i-n-y! But feisty, I’m telling you. Oh! He just kicked me πŸ™‚

The test results were all good.

I am taking my iron supplements, they seem to be helping with my energy levels.

We have a Caribbean 2-week vacation with my parents to look forward to (they’re more impatient, though – they haven’t seen Timothy since last summer!)

The weather has been nice this fall.

Timothy talks a lot – and we expected him to be delayed! Well, they say bilingual kids usually are.Β  Not Timothy. He loves reading, he loves learning what things are called, he loves repeating.

He hates Windows πŸ™‚ Yes, the company πŸ™‚ That’s because when he asks to watch the youtube nursery rhymes videos, it takes a while for my laptop to wake up – and all he can see is the Windows logo. He point at it and says “all done, windows!” – which means he has had it with windows and wants to move on πŸ™‚

Anyway… Timothy is really fun, he keeps me very active – which is good, most of the time. I walk a lot, spend a lot of time outdoors. He mostly makes me smile and laugh.

Hubby is awesome and as supportive as I could’ve dreamed of.

And all in all, things are great.

After vacation, we should start seriously getting ready for baby #2 (we already have a name, by the way… but we’ll keep it a secret :))

Double stroller or not?

Crib #2 or adult bed for Timothy?

Those are the big questions…

7 Responses to “20 Weeks”

  1. Artistmouse October 20, 2013 at 6:50 PM #

    Sorry about the headaches. I still get them now and then and they are brutal.

    That’s funny about Timothy’s dislike of Windows. I thinka lot of people probably feel the same way. πŸ™‚

    Here’s a link to a response that may help you pick a double stroller:
    http://www.canadianfamily.ca/gear/baby-gear/the-5-best-double-strollers/

    We opted to not get a double stroller, nut bought the rumble seat attachment for our UPPAbaby instead. We figured that our daughter is going to get to a point where she’s going to want to walk more and having a double stroller would just be a waste of space for us.

    We are going to buy a new crib for the baby and keep AJ in her crib. A few friends who have more than

    • zygotta October 20, 2013 at 9:17 PM #

      We have an older hand-me-down stroller that doesn’t have the option of adding seats… thanks for the link – I heard he side-by-side ones often have problems fitting thorough doors… but the ones where kids sit one behind the other are hard to navigate (get too heavy)… I don’t know. Undecided… I really hate Timothy’s stroller – it’s old, very heavy, barely fits in the trunk and VERY hard to navigate. So I am leaning towards investing in a new one – and the one that can have an additional seat that can be removed when needed…

  2. Artistmouse October 20, 2013 at 7:01 PM #

    Oops…dumb phone. I hit the comment button by accident.

    As I was saying, a few friends with more than one kid have advised us to keep her in the crib until she can escape from it. Even if she was at that point, we would just convert her crib to the toddler bed.

    That’s just my two cents. πŸ™‚

    • zygotta October 20, 2013 at 9:19 PM #

      I guess we’ll by a cheap ikea crib for the newborn. We bought an expensive one for Timothy thinking of how he’ll start jumping in it one day… I am sure by the time baby #2 decides to start jumping, Timothy will be truly ready to move on to a real bed…

      I am leaning towards keeping Timothy in the crib, too… he’s still too little, I want to be sure he’s safely in his crib and can’t get into trouble… until he gets a bit older and less likely to do something too stupid πŸ™‚

  3. An Aspiring Mom to Be October 22, 2013 at 6:39 AM #

    Sorry about the headaches. No fun! Congrats on 20 weeks too!

    I kept my oldest in a crib when #2 was born. He isn’t crawling out yet and I figured I would keep him contained there as long as possible. It is kind of convenient to have him in a crib if he wakes up early from a nap but I’m busy breastfeeding and need a few minutes before I tend to him. Plus, I didn’t want to deal with the frustration of having him get out of bed and get into things/having to keep putting him BACK in bed (I just don’t have the effort for that at the moment!). For now, I have #2 in a pack n play that we already had. I figure I’ll let him sleep there until I have to move my oldest to a big boy bed. I think your ikea idea is a good one πŸ™‚

    I hope your headache goes away!

    • zygotta October 25, 2013 at 9:01 AM #

      Yes, I have the small rocking moses basket that my friend gave me… It should be okay for first 3 months or so… but then I worry that the baby will get used to the tine basket and will be afraid when the transition to a crib happens…

      But I am leaning towards keeping Timothy in his crib. For his safety and my peace of mind reasons.

  4. momgaga January 8, 2014 at 3:53 AM #

    In the twentieth week of Pregnant Symptoms, the growing of your fetus turns smooth and stable, and you should pay more attention to the enhancement of nutrients.

Leave a Reply

