31 weeks

6 Jan

31 weeks. 2 months to go until c-section. The weeks are in the thirties now, last stretch – this time we won’t be getting into forties.

We all three went down with a very nasty cold right after Christmas – and we’re still not over it. It started with a nasty phlegm-coughing right out of nowhere (and I always thought one needed to have a running nose for a while to build the phlegm up!) – followed by running nose, congestion, etc.

Hubby and Timothy had high fevers.

Hubby and I were sweating like crazy – waking up in the middle of the night in soaking wet sheets (we both ended up lining our bed with towels for better absorption). Insane!

And with both of us sick, taking care of Timothy for a whole week was no fun at all. I was sort of happy to go to work today… even though I’m still not completely recovered.

My weight gain stalled. I had zero appetite over the past 1.5 weeks. I’ve been watching the needle of my scale approaching the 70 kilo mark for a while now – and I still haven’t crossed that line. My total weight gain is 17.5 pounds so far. With Timothy, I gained about 8 pounds in the last trimester (3 months) – so if I have only 2 months to go… I guess my total weight gain is going to be less that the first time around. We shall see. I am not too preoccupied with my weight gain anyway. Breastfeeding does the weight-loss miracle, so no need to worry.

Baby HURTS me. There’s one spot just to the right and a bit above the belly button which feel bruised now. Whenever baby hits that spot, it really, REALLY hurts. Overall, maybe because of the slower weight gain, maybe because this baby is much more active, I feel more uncomfortable this time around. I feel like the baby has already run out of space, he’s stretching me and kicking me like Timothy never did.

The heartburn left me, at least for now – great!

But I already experienced a few day of swollen lady parts. Last time this didn’t happen until last the month.

I am starting to get tired again. Energy leaves me after 8 pm. I feel like doing nothing. Even drawing feels like too much effort.

Overall, we both feel like we want to get started with the new chapter already. Get to know what the new baby is like. Start with the sleepless nights (and get over with them sooner).

Only 2 months to go. Still full 2 months to go. I can’t decide whether it’s too much or too little.

I guess I should find that packing list for the L&D bag, just in case. I remember the prenatal classes lady telling us the bag should be packed by the 32 week. So it’s about time.

I should also review what I need to buy – like nipple cream. And size 1 diapers.

I should probably check if all the 0-3 mos clothes made back to me after helping my friends. And have some laundry done. Or maybe that can wait… there’s still 2 months to go.

Only 2 months to go – and we don’t have anything ready. Nothing. Nada. Unlike the first time around πŸ™‚

Anyway… enough rambling.

Btw, I am reading you all… but commenting from my phone is often a challenge, so commenting is all hit and miss… but I do know who delivered a baby, who got pregnant, who hit another pregnancy milestone – and who is hoping for another pregnancy in the New Year…

Best of luck to you all in the New 2014!

8 Responses to “31 weeks”

  1. St. Elsewhere January 7, 2014 at 1:00 AM #

    Just 2 months to go. Wow!

    I think it is officially the pathetic cough season. I haz it too, as does my kiddo.

    And you better begin that preparation.

    • zygotta January 7, 2014 at 8:23 AM #

      aw, get well – soon!

  2. Sam January 7, 2014 at 3:08 AM #

    I have found the last two months have flown and dragged! I have gone thru all of Kade’s old stuff tho to see what I can use for #2 and have done most of the washing prep. With a mere 8 days to c section I still have to finish her room, find a name for her and have ZERO energy with which to do it… second child syndrome already!

    here’s to a great last 2 months for you!

    PS- I have also felt more painful with this pregnancy – my midwife kindly pointed out it was cos I was 2.5 years older than I was with my last one… eish!

    • zygotta January 7, 2014 at 8:23 AM #

      kindly, indeed πŸ™‚
      well, yeah… we are getting older… but do 2 years really mean that much?

      I am still working, so I think this will speed the time along… so far, this pregnancy has been much, much faster than the first one.

      8 days to go… wow πŸ™‚

      • Sam January 8, 2014 at 3:22 AM #

        Well according to my midwife two years makes a big difference… but hey! I still feel (not) 21 πŸ˜‰

        Today is my last day at work so I am looking forward to a few days off before baby arrives next week.

        xxx

        • zygotta January 9, 2014 at 9:30 PM #

          next week, that sounds crazy πŸ™‚ I have 6 weeks to work still… and even that feels crazy soon!

          enjoy your time off πŸ™‚

  3. Mrs FF January 7, 2014 at 4:19 PM #

    A mere 8 weeks to go! WOW, feels like you just announced you were pregnant a few weeks ago. Hope you are all feeling much better.

    Definitely sounds like a second child syndrome is at play, I’m sure in the last month you’ll get so much done and be ready for the little one. Is Timothy excited?

    • zygotta January 9, 2014 at 9:29 PM #

      Timothy doesn’t get the concept, not yet. “Brother” is too abstract, “baby in mommy’s tummy” is too puzzling… so he is clueless. Well, he’ll have to clue in once the baby arrives…

Leave a Reply

