Gyno Appointment

21 Jan

Had another gyno appointment today. Got very frustrated. I understand (kind of) how if you come on late in the day, you have to wait for 1.5 hours past your appointment time. But today I had an appointment at 9:40 am. Forty minutes after they open. And yet I still had to wait for 1.5 hours. How can it possibly be?!

Anyhow…

Gyno was concerned as according to her track, I lost weight since the last appointment. I assured her that according to my scale, the previous measurement was whacky (I definitely did NOT gain 3.5 kilo in on month!) She was kind of worried and was asking me if I am drinking milk (no) and eating yogurt (yes). I assured her that I eat a lot and after she measured my belly, he said that the belly is growing right by the textbook and calmed down.

My blood pressure is perfect, as always.

Baby is head down – as suspected. I noticed about 1-2 weeks ago that he seems to be head down now.

Baby’s heart beat is perfect.

They’ll do the swab test next time – which I was surprised to hear since mine will be a c-section. Turns out if there is an infection and my water breaks – even though the baby will be delivered via c-section, there’s still a risk to the baby.

Oh, and another surprise: they changed my c-section date and forgot to tell me. Haha. I discovered it by chance. No big deal – just 2 days earlier. I will 39w2d, so I am satisfied. Just needed to make sure that my friend is still available to babysit Timothy for those 3 days. She is 🙂

Oh, and the extremely itchy nipples (like wake up in the middle of the night to scratch itchy) – not much to do. Put vitamin E cream… Sigh.

Anyway. 6 weeks to go. Another Tuesday baby. I am heavy, I am waddling, at times I feel pressure down there. Baby feels too big for my belly, some of the postures he assumes really hurt me.

I am looking forward to starting this new chapter.

I have to admit a planned c-section is starting to feel a bit scary. Like, it’s a real surgery, you know? Last time I was exhausted and couldn’t care less about what was to happen. I barely remember the needle in my spine. I don’t remember any of the prep in the OR, I was so groggy. This time it will probably be much more different. I am glad my c-section is first thing in the morning. Hopefully, I will sleep the night before – and won’t have to bite my nails in anticipation…

We’re getting there!

3 Responses to “Gyno Appointment”

  1. Mrs FF January 22, 2014 at 4:48 PM #

    Yikes! That wait so early In the morning will freak me out too as it will affect everything else you have planned for the day.

    Wonderful that everything is on track and that you still have a baby sitter despite the date change (any specific reason they changed the date without asking you first).

    It felt weird having a planned c-section much like I was going in for a regular surgery which it was anyway, but it was good in a way as I knew what date baby would come (good she didn’t come early) and was able to stroll into the hospital and take some good before pictures (LOL) and I had her at 39w6d and I also had to do that swab test for the same reason.

    • zygotta January 24, 2014 at 8:33 AM #

      The doctor did not feel comfortable scheduling a c-section that close to the actual due date. She feared I might go into labour on my own – so she moved it 2 days ahead.

      I wish I could schedule it at 39w6d… what was the reason you had a scheduled c-section?

      • Mrs FF January 29, 2014 at 8:49 PM #

        Previous surgery in 2012

Leave a Reply

