38w1d and gyno visit

24 Feb

I started matleave. Thursday was my last day. I am not feeling it yet.

And my mini vacation before the baby arrives is a short one – next Tuesday is the c-section day already.

Although I’d rather lay quiet and draw and paint for the remainder of me-time, I am active : had an afternoon tea with a few girlfriends on Friday, belly photo session on Saturday, friend’sĀ  baby shower yesterday (Sunday), gyno visit today, lunch tomorrow, dinner Thursday …

And there are some errands still like dropping by the dealership or buying bum cream…

Night sweats are annoying. I wake up in the middle of the night drenched in sweat. I go use the washroom and climbing back in soaking wet bed is disgusting.

Heartburn is still bugging me, mostly at bed time.

Nipples are less itchy, but the I lather them in lanolin twice a day.

Baby’s still very active, punching me here and there. My favourite ones are in my rectum :/

On the bright side, I am starting to get excited. I think of the real baby, I envision hugging and kissing and smelling it. I think if the matleave months ahead. I finally not only accepted what is coming – but embraced it. I feel peaceful and happy šŸ™‚

Hubby, on the other hand, is nervous about the upcoming change: if I will be on matleave, wrapping my life around baby’s needs, for him the new addition will be on top of his already busy life. And he will have to look after Timothy more than he does now. I hope he doesn’t lose his cool and we maintain a balance.

Weight gain is still fairly non-existent.

A week and a day to go until the new baby arrives. Craaazyyyyy!

The gyno decided this was our last rendezvous, no need to meet next Monday.

My blood pressure was as low as always 100/60), baby’s heartbeat was perfect, and she checked my cervix – completely shut, so we don’t expect this baby to try and get born sooner.

I did test positive for that bacteria they check for before birth. Not a big deal since I am having a c-section, but if my water breaks there’s some risk. I didn’t ask what the risk and the countermeasures were. Hopefully I won’t need to know.

And that’s it. It’s a final countdown!

12 Responses to “38w1d and gyno visit”

  1. St. Elsewhere February 25, 2014 at 2:23 AM #

    Oh this is the last stretch really! Good Luck!

    It must be hectic at home.

    • zygotta February 25, 2014 at 10:16 PM #

      You know what, surprisingly, it isn’t. The bag is ready, the plans for the friend to look after Timothy are all set, the laundry is done… we are ready!

  2. BleedingTulip February 25, 2014 at 4:43 AM #

    So exciting!!!!! I’ve been following along your whole pregnancy but sucking at commenting lol.

    Side note: I had the bacteria and delivered vaginally. If your water breaks they’ll just give you some antibiotics through an IV. Not a big deal šŸ™‚

    • zygotta February 25, 2014 at 10:14 PM #

      Oh good – thanks for letting me know. I googled it, too – and it looks like I have nothing to worry about šŸ™‚

  3. Mrs FF February 25, 2014 at 10:29 AM #

    YAY can’t believe baby is almost here. I was going to say the same thing about the bacteria , I didn’t have it but the dr had told me I would be given anti.biotics via IV if positive and I assume it would be the same for you. Do ask the Gynae on the day though so you are sure. Is Timothy excited?

    • zygotta February 25, 2014 at 10:13 PM #

      Timothy is clueless. He’s too young to understand. Although when asked whether he wants a baby brother, he says yes without hesitation šŸ™‚

  4. Christina @ According To C February 25, 2014 at 9:59 PM #

    Oh my gosh!! But if you have your baby next week, that means I’m not far behind!! Eek!!
    Good luck! Can’t wait to virtually meet your new little one!

  5. zygotta February 25, 2014 at 10:12 PM #

    Yes, it’s right around the corner. Time flies!!!

  6. Artistmouse February 26, 2014 at 1:07 AM #

    Wow! I can’t believe your little man will be delivered in a week. Where did the time go?! I hope all goes well with your c-section and recovery. I know it will be difficult with a toddler in the house that also needs your attention, but make sure you take it easy so that you don’t prolong your recovery time.

    • zygotta February 26, 2014 at 9:31 AM #

      Thank you!
      The moment we found out we were pregnant, we started putting money aside to afford keeping Timothy in daycare. I think having this thing constant in his life will be good for him – and will let me keep my act together, too. We shall see…

  7. Zoe Rose @ papillonroses February 26, 2014 at 4:17 AM #

    Glad you’re feeling calm and prepared! I’m bracing myself for a manic three months after baby is born, as I will have two weeks off uni but still need to be up to date with work, whilst hubby can’t really take the time off uni either! Phoebe says baby a lot to my tummy but I really don’t know what she will make of it either. Just tired of all the heartburn and pubic pain, so looking forward to meeting this little one. I have to have the antibiotics in labour which should be fun;) Hope all goes well!

    • zygotta February 26, 2014 at 9:32 AM #

      Wow, a baby, a toddler, and work!!! That’s a lot! I hope work won’t be too demanding and baby will be easy and sleeping well!!!

Leave a Reply

