8 days

7 Mar

Zachary is 8 days old.

Thank you all for all the good wishes in my previous post!

I plan to write in more detail later (am typing with one thumb on my phone right now during a breastfeeding session.

Recovery was agonizing, the pain and the limitations it brings were driving me to tears. But I am healing faster than the last time.

Zachary lost 8% of his weight in the hospital (300 grams or 2/3 of a pound) but gained almost all of it back in 2.5 days after discharge. Pediatrician was so pleased she didn’t think we needed to come for another month!

However, to keep up with his appetite, I barely slept. I was reduced to co-sleeping in most uncomfortable poses, waking up every 45-60 minutes, crying a few times from exhaustion. Timothy was a big baby and did never need to feed that frequently, especially during night time. I also couldn’t put him down. He lost so much weight he was always cold if left on his own.

After those initial two nights at home, it got a bit better, I get to sleep 1.5-2 hours at a time, but he’s still feeding almost nonstop during the day. I barely left the couch today, my whole body aches from being so immobile.

Today I started crying as I really wanted to sleep and Zachary kept waking up 10 minutes after putting down. So hubby announced that Zachary cannot possibly be hungry, so he took Zachary downstairs and let me sleep. Zachary ended up sleeping for 4.5 hours straight! What was that about?! Whatever that was, I feel renewed.

Timothy is endlessly tender towards Zachary, always hugging and kissing him, but his behavior is now awful. Everything and anything sends him to tears, everything is like pulling teeth now. And I can’t even pick him up due to c-section. I feel so sad for him 😦 Especially since he’s so good witg Zachary. We try and focus as much as we cqn on him before and after daycare, but still…

So there you go. Our news, in short.

4 Responses to “8 days”

  1. Zoe Rose @ papillonroses March 7, 2014 at 2:08 PM #

    I hope it all gets easier, just know in the long term Timothy probably won’t even remember the hard bits and they will have a great relationship. Phoebe is also playing up behaviour wise, partly a cold and partly frustration when I can’t pick her up bc of my pelvis or stopping her bouncing on bump. Rest and recover well; thinking of and praying for you as you all adjust.

  2. ifserenitynow March 7, 2014 at 6:09 PM #

    I found this blog post very inspiring as my son nursed around the clock for the first few months of his life. Enjoy the littleness! http://nurshable.com/2012/05/04/i-am-not-a-human-pacifier/

  3. Sam March 13, 2014 at 4:16 AM #

    Huge Congrats! So glad that Timothy is handling well to Zachary’s arrival and is in love with his brother.

    xx

  4. theonethatlovesyou April 2, 2014 at 11:49 PM #

    Oh I feel for you. Fernando was exactly like that. Nursing round the clock. Waking up every 2hours. I hope my second baby will be different or perhaps worse? Anyway, take care dear xxx

Leave a Reply

