Zachary is 3 weeks old

19 Mar

Sorry for disappearing. In short, all is well.

In long… well, Zachary is not Timothy. Timothy was an awesome night sleeper the moment he was born. Feed him, swaddle him, put him down, forget about him for 3-5 hours.

Not Zachary. Not only does he eat round the clock – he has difficulties falling asleep. So it’s wake up, eat for 30-40 minutes, and then spend 1-1.5 hours drilling a hole in my head. Fussing, crying, refusing to go to sleep. I would get him all sleepy and then, after we both start drifting away, he would poop. Or sneeze. Or start hiccupping. And then we’re back to square one.

So after 2 hours of eating and crying he’d fall asleep… only to wake up an hour later for it’s been 3 hours and he’s hungry again. Sigh.
Some nights are better. Others I am reduced to tears, cursing and asking what the f does he want and why won’t he just shut up and go to sleep. Yeah, I’m yelling at my own baby. Classy.

Oh well.

Timothy was pretty whiny during the day and a terrible napper. Zachary has much longer naps – but getting him to fall asleep for a nap is a major pain in the ass, too

He spends quite some time awake – crying, usually. He doesn’t react to rattle or my voice or pretty much anything – so being awake is pretty boring for him, I’d imagine. So he cries. Unless I unrelentlessly bounce on a yoga ball with him in my arms. The moment I try and leave the ball – screaming renews.

And then he’d nap. Most likely in my arms. So I spend my days watching dvds. With all special features, deleted scenes and commentaries – for I can’t get up and put another dvd in…

I’m exhausted. And frustrated and angry often, too. Like right now. Trying to get him to sleep. Desperately wanting to crawl in bed.

I am glad he’s my second child and I know how quickly things change and this will pass soon enough.

But for now, night time sleep qnd baby that just fights sleep is all that’s on my mind…

11 Responses to “Zachary is 3 weeks old”

  1. Mrs FF March 20, 2014 at 3:24 AM #

    Yikes, sorry that doesn’t sound good especially since you were spoilt by Timothy. I hope it gets better and it’s just a new born phase thing xxx

    • zygotta March 20, 2014 at 8:02 PM #

      Thank you. I also hope he’ll grow out of it, soon…

      • Mrs FF March 31, 2014 at 8:53 PM #

        Hope you are doing great

  2. St. Elsewhere March 20, 2014 at 4:59 AM #

    That doesn’t sound good. I had a hard time with sleep-deprivation too, and I know it sucks the life out of the mum.

    I hope Zach settles down fast. I must tell you that you were pretty lucky with Timothy’s habits.

    Good Luck, and I hope you can take a respite whenever you can squeeze it in.

    • zygotta March 20, 2014 at 8:04 PM #

      Oh, I know Timothy was the best baby award winner. I knew I wasn’t going to get another Timothy. But this is really, really hard…

  3. Aspiring mom March 20, 2014 at 5:31 AM #

    I know every child is different, but do you think he could have reflux? My oldest screamed all the time for his first three or four months. He wouldn’t sleep, he just cried. Pretty much whatever I tried short of holding him constantly. Turned out that it was reflux and he improved drastically once it was dealt with…

    Anyways, I hope it gets better. It us exhausting to have such a needy baby….

    • zygotta March 20, 2014 at 8:04 PM #

      I’ll ask my doctor next week if this could be reflux, thank you for the tip!

  4. ifserenitynow March 20, 2014 at 9:53 AM #

    Do you have a ring sling or a soft structured carrier like a Tula or an Ergo? That may help a ton. You could also try bed sharing. My son nursed around the clock and I finally gave in to bed sharing versus co-sleeping (he was in a bassinet next to the bed). Once we did that both of us got a lot more sleep. As you mentioned this time is short lived. He just spent nine months in mommas belly and isn’t ready to give her up yet :). Hang in here.

    • zygotta March 20, 2014 at 8:08 PM #

      He is sleeping right next to me. I nurse him in bed most of the time and then put him back. Often times he wakes up five minutes later and the screaming begins…

      I swaddled him last night. I think it helped. He fussed, but didn’t fully wake up. It took me the usual 2 hours to get him to sleep, but for the rest of the night he slept. He woke up for some very short feeds, and then fell right back to sleep. Will repeat tonight and see uf the swaddling thing really worked…

  5. Zoe Rose @ papillonroses March 26, 2014 at 3:26 AM #

    Josh used to stay up really late with Phoebe waiting for her to fall asleep until we gave up and gave her a bedtime routine. The only reason she napped in the early days was because she fell asleep feeding! Walks in the pram helped my sanity.

  6. theonethatlovesyou April 2, 2014 at 11:53 PM #

    Oh hang in there! I know it is tough. I pray for you that it will get better soon. Xxx

Leave a Reply

